Automatically Send Course Completion Data to Planning Center

Scott Magdalein Updated by Scott Magdalein

If you use Planning Center and have connected your Planning Center account to your ServeHQ account, you have the ability to send course completion data back to your Planning Center account automatically.

When a TrainedUp user completes a course, a Note is created on that person's Planning Center profile. The Note will contain the name of the course, the date of completion, and the leader of the course at the time of completion. The Note will also be assigned to the right Note Category in your Planning Center account.

How to Set It Up

First, connect your ServeHQ account to your Planning Center account. Go to your ServeHQ navigation bar on the left hand side and go to your settings by clicking on your name. Scroll down on the Settings screen until you find Integrations and select Integrate with Planning Center. You’ll then be sent to Planning Center's website to authorize the connection. Once this is done, save your settings in ServeHQ.

Second, you'll need to select a Planning Center Note Category for each course that you want saved in Planning Center. Go to the course page and click Edit in the top right corner. Then scroll to the bottom of the page. You'll see a dropdown option called Planning Center Note Category. Select the Note Category from your Planning Center account and save your changes. You must do this for each course individually.

Make Sure Your Users Are Up-to-date (REQUIRED)

Before your TrainedUp account can push completion data back to your Planning Center account, you'll need to run a new, fresh import. Even if you've imported your people from Planning Center in the past, you'll need to do this step to make sure your people in Planning Center match your people in TrainedUp.

We updated the import process to include Planning Center IDs for each person that is imported. Without that data being synced, we can't send completion data back to the person's Planning Center profile.

When you run a new import, TrainedUp will bring in new users from your list AND update existing users. If you do not run a fresh import, your existing users will not have their Planning Center profiles updated upon course completion.

Did you find this helpful?

"Whoops! It looks like you don't have access..." What next?

Can I integrate TrainedUp with my Church Management System?

Get in touch